By the Pricking of My Thumbs review

594134

While visiting Tommy’s Aunt Ada at Sunny Ridge Nursing Home, Tuppence encounters some odd residents including Mrs. Lancaster who mystifies her with talk about “your poor child” and “something behind the fireplace”.

When Aunt Ada dies a few weeks later, she leaves Tommy and Tuppence a painting featuring a house, which Tuppence is sure she has seen before. This realization leads her on a dangerous adventure involving a missing tombstone, diamond smuggling and a horrible discovery of what Mrs. Lancaster was talking about.

I haven’t read Agatha in decades…can’t even tell you what the book was that I read.  This one caught my eye as I perused my Nook for something to read at work so I decided to give it a try.

I have to say, I don’t like the name “Tuppence” but I did like the character in the book as well as her husband, Tommy.  Both were well developed that you’d be able to compare them to an aunt or uncle in your own family.  I had to laugh at their musings more than once as they sounded like, in my mind, what an old married couple might sound after 30+ years of marriage.

The story itself wasn’t too hard to figure out but goes to show how a chance encounter can lead to all sorts of mischief when we use our imagination rather than asking concrete questions.  This is mentioned as well by the innkeepers husband who complains about how women are always building fantasies around people and circumstantial evidence.

I can’t say anything – I do it all the time.

The books is fun and kept my interest throughout.  There were several times I thought Tuppence wasn’t using the smarts the author said she had but I suppose we are all prone to bad decisions now and then.  I will, no doubt, find another Agatha book to read but not right away.

I give the book an A – it was a quick and easy read.

Leave a Reply

