Beyond the Ice Limit review

26245817BEYOND THE ICE LIMIT
That thing is growing again. We must destroy it. The time to act is now…
With these words begins Gideon Crew’s latest, most dangerous, most high-stakes assignment yet. Failure will mean nothing short of the end of humankind on earth.
Five years ago, the mysterious and inscrutable head of Effective Engineering Solutions, Eli Glinn, led a mission to recover a gigantic meteorite–the largest ever discovered–from a remote island off the coast of South America. The mission ended in disaster when their ship, the Rolvaag, foundered in a vicious storm in the Antarctic waters and broke apart, sinking-along with its unique cargo-to the ocean floor. One hundred and eight crew members perished, and Eli Glinn was left paralyzed.
But this was not all. The tragedy revealed something truly terrifying: the meteorite they tried to retrieve was not, in fact, simply a rock. Instead, it was a complex organism from the deep reaches of space.
Now, that organism has implanted itself in the sea bed two miles below the surface-and it is growing. If it is not destroyed, the planet will be doomed. There is only one hope: for Glinn and his team to annihilate it, a task which requires Gideon’s expertise with nuclear weapons. But as Gideon and his colleagues soon discover, the “meteorite” has a mind of its own-and it has no intention of going quietly…

Ah, I finally have read the book I have been waiting to read for months.  Finally!  I picked it up from the library on Wednesday but waited until last night to start it.  I had to finish the other book first…did I write a review? I can’t remember.

Anyway, it doesn’t matter.  This book was everything I had expected – intriguing, exciting, and also creepy.  I didn’t think I would like them meshing Gideon Crew with the rest of the characters from the first book, Ice Limit, but it actually worked very well.

Sometimes, admittedly, the book’s technical/scientific stuff was way over my head but it was still fascinating.  The end came too fast but it worked.  I’m amazed how authors come up with this stuff and firmly believe I will never write again.  I love it when a book fulfills my need for a good sci-fi horror story.  There is virtually nothing I would change about the book.

Excellent.  I give it an A+

Leave a Reply

