The Ice Queen review

177515

Be careful what you wish for. A small town librarian lives a quiet life without much excitement. One day, she mutters an idle wish and, while standing in her house, is struck by lightning. But instead of ending her life, this cataclysmic event sparks it into a new beginning.

She goes in search of Lazarus Jones, a fellow survivor who was struck dead, then simply got up and walked away. Perhaps this stranger who has seen death face to face can teach her to live without fear. When she finds him, he is her opposite, a burning man whose breath can boil water and whose touch scorches. As an obsessive love affair begins between them, both are forced to hide their most dangerous secrets–what turned one to ice and the other to fire.

I don’t know if I should review this book or not.  On one hand, the story was incredibly depressing to me but on the other hand, it was interesting too.  Her first idle wish wasn’t the one being struck by lightning – her first one was when she was just a child and then she blamed herself for the outcome.  She blamed herself her entire life for something that was in no way her fault.

The whole Lazarus thing could have been left out and it would have been a trifle better to me but then again, maybe it wouldn’t have.  At least Lazarus helps her begin living again – even if only a little.

Someone else wrote that the book is depressing to the reader and keeps kicking you deeper and deeper.  I can see that – it is a sad story and I don’t think even the ending can undo the sorrow the book can hoist on this reader.

So, how do I rate it? Um, I give it a B+ because it did begin to feel long and a bit tedious towards the end.  I enjoyed it – and yet, I also hated a lot about it – and yet…

Basically, you will have to read it yourself.  I am not certain I will read more of this author – this book is so dark and bothersome that I can’t see reading another.  Of course, who knows?

Leave a Reply

