Northwoods review

25614709

Some borders should never be crossed.  Ex–Delta Force Davis Holland, now an agent for the Customs and Border Protection, has seen it all. But nothing in his experience has prepared him for what he and the local sheriff find one freezing night in the Minnesota woods.

Investigating reports of an illegal border crossing, the two men stumble across a blood-drenched scene of mass murder, barely escaping with their lives . . . and a single clue to the mayhem: a small wooden chest placed at the heart of the massacre. Something deadly has entered Holland’s territory, crossing the border from nightmare into reality.

When news of the atrocity reaches wealthy cryptozoologist Richard Severance, he sends a three-person team north to investigate. Not long ago, the members of that team—Ben McKelvie, Lindsay Clark, and Alex Standingcloud—were nearly killed by a vengeful shapeshifter. Now they are walking wounded, haunted by gruesome memories that make normal life impossible. But there is nothing normal about the horror that awaits in the Northwoods.

OK, let me say up front that I didn’t think this book was as good as the first one, “Beast of Barcroft”.  Probably because that one was more personal to the characters and I could relate to horrible neighbors.

However, having said that, this book is a lot of fun and I thoroughly enjoyed it even though I thought it got a little overkill by the end.  Kept reading at work in between customers – which wasn’t hard considering we didn’t have a lot of customers today.

Loved the north woods of Minnesota and Lake Superior has always intrigued me.  Ben was his irritating self who jumps in without thinking things through which usually ends up with the rest of the group a bit miffed at him – but he always comes through in the end.  Alex was by far my favorite in this book.

Of course, having devoured the two books available from this author, I’m now left wondering what in the heck I’m going to read.  Don’t think this one will invade my dreams like the last one – hyenas have never been particularly scary to me…not that I’ve really seen any either.

I give the book an A and have to say I hope the writer is getting ready to release his next one because I am an impatient fan.

Leave a Reply

